top of page

Indian Origin Shraddha Gopalakrishnan dominates the U13 English National Championships 2022

Updated: Nov 27, 2022

Indian origin players dominated U13 English National Championships 2022 in Milton Keynes. They won 16 out 20 medals of all the five categories.

Photo Courtesy: BadmintonEngland

Shraddha Gopalakrishnan won all of her matches across all the categories to dominate the girls competition and mixed doubles.

After dominating group stage in singles, the only shuttler has taken Shraddha to deciding is Kent in the semi-finals.

Gopalakrishnan had an easier final, 21-18 21-11, and is  winner over Risheka Sathyanathan.

She also found top form in the girls doubles alongside Yashica Earla and they reached the final without dropping a game. They dropped their first game in that final as Katie Carr and Sawoni Talati took the opener 21-10 but Earla and Gopalakrishnan surged back 21-11 21-18 to claim victory.

All the four medals of the girls singles were bagged by Indian origin players, Shraddha Gopalakrishnan, Risheka Sathyanathan, Meghna Mahesh and Yashica Earla.

In mixed doubles, top seed pair Gopalakrishnan and Kavin Karunakaran bagged national gold without dropping a game. They won Yixiang Hou and Meghna Mahesh 21-12 21-15 in the final.

Hampshire’s Yixiang Hou was the outstanding boys player and took singles gold. He beat Oliver Wu 22-20 21-14 in 21 minutes in the final to the national title.

Top seed in the boys doubles alongside Tejas Singh, Hou delivered on favourite status with a similarly comprehensive triumph in that discipline. Charlie Qi and Michael Williams got the closest to challenging them, taking 13 points in the second game of the semi-final. They wrapped up an powerful final win 21-12 21-10 over Hubert Ceglinski and Kavin Karunakaran.

Winners of U13 English National Championships 2022

BS U13

1 Yixiang Hou

2 Oliver Wu

3 Kavin Karunakaran

4 Tejas Singh

GS U13

1 Shraddha Gopalakrishnan

2 Risheka Sathyanathan

3 Meghna Mahesh

4 Yashica Earla

XD U13

1 Kavin Karunakaran

Shraddha Gopalakrishnan

2 Yixiang Hou

Meghna Mahesh

3 Nikhil Pulikkottil

Vedanshi Jain

4 Oliver Wu

Risheka Sathyanathan

BD U13

1 Yixiang Hou

Tejas Singh

2 Hubert Ceglinski 

Kavin Karunakaran

3 George Yuxiao Wang

Oliver Wu

4 Charlie Qi

Michael Williams

GD U13

1 Yashica Earla

Shraddha Gopalakrishnan

2 Katie Carr 

Sawoni Talati

3 Meghna Mahesh

Risheka Sathyanathan

4 Vedanshi Jain

Hanshika Srenigan

655 views0 comments


Durable & Stable Shuttle

WEIDAN Badminton Goose Feather shuttlecocks which are durable and stable in flight for advanced players

Read more..

bottom of page