top of page

Teen Ager Anmol Kharb becomes the National Senior Badminton Champion. Does she mimic Saina Nehwal?

Updated: Jan 7

While the star walls of Senior Squad have failed, takeaways of the 85th Senior National Badminton Championships 2023, organized by the Badminton Association of India (BAI) concluded at Guwahati, Assam on 25th Dec 2023 are the promising teenage players for Women's Singles Squad.

While the top Women Singles players were struggling, Haryana's Anmol Kharb and Punjab's Tanvi Sharma cruised into the finals of the senior national championship.

“I am happy to win the title at the age of 16. I am even more thrilled as my idol Saina Nehwal was also 16 when she became champion in 2006-07,” said Anmol.

Despite Tanvi's First Set and Second game, her strain in the right thigh and the medical time-out during the second game made Anmol come back strongly. 16-year-old Anmol became a Senior National Badminton Champion in 2023 by winning the final by 15-21, 21-17, 16-8.

Anmol Kharb BAI National Champion

Both the teenagers excluded the Senior top seed players of the event, Akarshi Kashyap #01 and Ashita Chaliha #2, in the Quarters and Semis by Tanvi and Anmol respectively.

Chirag Sen crowned the Men's Singles title while Lakshya Sen, Kiran George, Mithum M, and Sathish Kumar K failed in earlier stages. It was notable that since 2015 Chirag hadn't decorated any national circuits.

Chirag Sen National Champion

Yonex Astrox

Top-seeded Krishna Prasad & Vishnuvardhan failed to manage the 6th seeded in the deciding rubber as 20-22,24-22,21-14. TN's Hariharan Ruban #4 and Lokesh Naveen won the Bronze medals and gave way to the finalists of Men's Doubles Events.

Dhruv Kapila Tanisha Crasto had shown their supreme in the Mixed Doubles while #3 Priya Devi Konjengbam & Shruti Mishra won the Women's Doubles event.

586 views0 comments


Durable & Stable Shuttle

WEIDAN Badminton Goose Feather shuttlecocks which are durable and stable in flight for advanced players

Read more..

bottom of page